I haven’t written a poem in a long time. I tried to sit down and write something today, but had a lot of trouble because I’ve been working so hard at making my meanings crystal clear. A couple of my journalism instructors have said to keep a record of lines that you particularly like and think about why. So this is a collection of some of my favorite song lyrics. disclaimer: do not judge me. some of these song are terrible.

the first set are ones that I use for encouragement:

all that I’m after is a life full of laughter

we could be the stars falling from the sky

shining how we want

brighter than the sun

life throws you curves

but you learn to swerve

might as well share, might as well smile

life goes on for a little bitty while

don’t you worry your pretty little mind

people throw rocks at things that shine

you say you bite? well I bite back

I put my hands up they’re playing my song, you know I’m going to be ok

the next set are ones that I like because of the way they capture raw emotions so clearly:

when I kiss your salty lips, you will feel a little crazy, but for me?

I know my heart will never be the same

but I’m telling myself I’ll be ok

you are the best thing that’s ever been mine

this life this love that you and I have been dreaming of

I lie awake and I drive myself crazy

nothing is forever, there’s got to be something better than in the middle

feels like I should be getting somewhere

but somehow I’m neither here nor there

while I’m wide awake, you have no trouble sleeping

I let it fall, my heart

it’s the last time, the last time I’ll wait up for you

I’m not ready to make nice

to write this down it means to reconcile

let it burn

don’t build your world around, volcanoes melt you down

you give me miles and miles of ocean and I asked for the sea

from here there are whole stanzas that I like, but they’re the same concept. I like how well they express my feelings that I have such problems putting into words. I’m only sharing two, one that is particularly haunting me right now and the other just because I love it.

I’ll spread my wings, and I’ll learn how to fly
Though it’s not easy to tell you goodbye
I gotta take a risk, take a chance, make a change
And breakaway
Out of the darkness and into the sun
But I won’t forget the place I come from
I gotta take a risk, take a chance, make a change
And breakaway

sweet like candy to my soul

sweet you rock and sweet you roll

lost for you, I’m so lost for you

I saved the rest of them as a doc for just myself. I hope you liked these as much as I do.